Last updated: March 26. 2014 1:44PM - 342 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

PORTSMOUTH, Ohio — Shawnee State University’s annual Evening of Honors will cap off the Celebration of Scholarship on Friday, March 28.

Hors d’oeuvres will be served at 5:15 p.m., and the ceremony will begin at 6 p.m. in the University Center’s Sodexo Ballroom.

The event will award SSU students from various majors and degrees for their outstanding scholarship. Specific awards include the club of the year award, previously won by fraternities Tau Kappa Epsilon and Phi Mu Delta as well as role-play gamers Dungeon Crawlers, and the Student Government Association members of the year award.

Additionally, the SGA will be rewarding one faculty member with the 25th annual Bear Hug Award. Recognizing administrators, faculty, and staff members who have gone above and beyond the call of duty, the Bear Hug Award was first given to Mark Mirabello, Ph.D. in 1990.

This year’s nominees are Robert Lawson, Gay Lynn Shipley, Tiffany Hartman, Scott Douthat, Jon Dunham, John Huston, Kimberly Gammon, Marsha Tackett, Doug Sturgeon, Sandra Cox, Dan Johnson, Steven Tackett and Kathy Webb.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com